They call me Jillian.

I will crush you tiny people.

In Uncategorized on March 7, 2010 at 8:52 pm

I hope you all are as dorky as I am because I’m about to share something… I love Wired. I read it all the time. For those of you not in the know, Wired is this really, kind of nerdy but graphically beautiful tech and science monthly. The subscription is super expensive so unfortunately I only get to read it on my dad’s dime, at home. Anyway, a while ago (maybe a year or two now) they had an article about tilt-shift photography. I can’t seem to find the article on their website now, but I’m not really surprised. We live in a fast-paced world nowadays, or so I hear. Tilt-shift effectively miniaturizes a pictures. It’s actually pretty cool. And it’s a little DIY. Here’s a guide here.

Basically, you just use a couple simple Photoshop functions to increase the focal depth and blur the edges creating an aesthetically captivating image of the scaled-down variety. Tilt-shift is actually getting a lot of exposure lately (sorry for the pun!). If my memory serves me right there’s a Allstate commercial out now that is done completely in tilt-shift. Not to mention this totally awesome youtube video that literally blows my mind (- if you click on any one thing from this entire post, make it this link. Please. It’ll be good for you.). It also popped up on one of my most favorite inspiration blogs, Uber SuperAnd on the growing tilt-shift community (there’s a community for everything nowadays – god, I’m sounding old) on Flickr, which is where the picture for this post is from (thank you!). I am thoroughly impressed with the creativity of those who have way too much time on their hands. My attempts at tilt-shift will begin as soon as I have some time (like that’s gonna happen). And as soon as I can get my hands on a copy of Photoshop by a method that circumvents its $800 price tag. But for the time being, I’ll just post and post some more.  I thought I needed a little something colorful up on the blog. It’s been oh so monotone lately. Time to add some color; time to add some interest.

Leave a Reply

